Multicultural Council

Contact information

Additional information in Finnish

The Multicultural Council observes matters from an immigrant’s point of view, makes statements about matters related to immigrants and introduces initiatives in close co-operation with other influence groups in Turku.

The other influence groups in Turku are the Children’s Parliament, the Youth Council, the Disability Council, and the Council of Senior Citizens.

The Multicultural Council also promotes co-operation and dialogue between immigrant associations, and encourages immigrants to participate and influence the social decision-making.

Two-year term

The Multicultural Council consists of six representatives from foreign language speaking associations, six elected officials from the city’s committees, one member of the City Council, and one specialist member of the city.

The members of the Multicultural Council are selected for a two-year term at a time. The language used in the meetings is Finnish.

Apply to the Multicultural Council for the term 2019-2021 here . Application form is in Finnish.

Members during the term 2017-2019


Representatives of committees and boards:
Muhis Azizi, Chairperson
Cultural Comittee
Berhan Ahmadi, Vice Chairperson
City Board's Concern Section
Helen Honkasaari
Education Committee
Niina Salonen
Sports Committee
Jutta Wirén
Urban Environment Committee
Muhiadin Hersi
Social and Healthcare Committee
Henri Hautamäki
Youth Council
Representatives of foreign language speaking associations:

Eva Finch, 

Tatiana Kivinen
Varsinais-Suomen Venäläisten Järjestöjen Assosiaatio ry
Abdishakur Ali
Länsi-Suomen Somaliseura ry

Sudhir Karki
Step Europé ry

Kais Zaya
Idän kristityt ry

Abdel Bettahar
Globaalinuoret ry

Other representatives:

Officer representative:
Anna Kivinen specialist
City Development Group /City of Turku