Minna Arve was elected Mayor of Turku in a closed City Council ballot vote. Arve was given 34 votes while Jarkko Virtanen was given 33 votes.

Turku City Council elected Minna Arve as the new Mayor of Turku in their meeting on 16 September 2017. The election took place after a closed ballot vote. The votes were cast as follows: Minna Arve was given 34 votes and Jarkko Virtanen was given 33 votes. In total, 15 people applied for the post.

Minna Arve has been working as the CEO of Turku Chamber of Commerce from 2016 onwards. Before, she has worked as the party secretary of the National Coalition Party (2014 - 2016), as the Chair of Turku City Board (2010 - 2014), as the Marketing Manager of HyTest Ltd (2004 - 2010) and as a nurse at Turku University Hospital (1997 - 2004). Arve graduated as Master of Science (Economics) from Turku School of Economics in 2004. She also has a degree in nursing from the year 1996.

Turku City Council decided in their meeting on 28 August 2017 that the post will be filled for a term of four years. As part of agreement, the compensation in case of termination can be equivalent to the salary of 12 months at the most. The total salary in the post is 15 310.62 euros per month.

The current Mayor of Turku Aleksi Randell has been appointed CEO of the Confederation of Finnish Construction Industries RT (CFCI). Randell will begin in his new post on 9 November 2017.