During the autumn season 2020 Turku Philharmonic Orchestra offers three public dress rehearsals. Enroll beforehand.

Culture Card holders can enjoy the public final rehearsals free of charge! Rehearsals begin at 11 am.

The exact duration of the public final rehearsals varies depending on the concert program. Final rehearsals are a walk-through of the whole concert. The orchestra rehears also separate parts or stems depending on the conductor and the program.

Final rehearsals are held in Turku Concert Hall unless stated otherwise. Concert Hall doors are opened around 10.30 and audience is seated few minutes before the rehearsal begins. The cafeteria is not open during the rehearsals.

Autumn 2020 public dress rehearsals

Fri 2.10. at 11 am in the Concert Hall
Austrian symphonies 

Enroll here (in finnish)

Clemens Schuldt, conductor
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony no. 34 in C major
Franz Schubert: Symphony no. 9 in C major

A guaranteed enjoyment from beginning to end, this symphonic programme is conducted by one of Germany’s most interesting young and upcoming conductors, Clemens Schuldt. Of these two Austrian symphonies in C major, Mozart’s 34th is lucid and ceremonious in its purebred Classical style, while Schubert’s 9th is grand and magnificent on a Beethovenian scale.

Fri 13.11 at 11 am in the Concert Hall
Suite Française

Enroll here (in finnish)

Håkan Hardenberger, conductor and trumpet
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Henri Tomasi: Fanfares Liturgiques
André Jolivet: Concertino for trumpet, strings and piano
Thierry Escaich: Tanz-Fantasie for trumpet and piano
Francis Poulenc: Suite Française
Maurice Ravel: Ma mère l’oye, suite for orchestra

Bienvenue! This is an evening featuring French 20th-century composers. The programme begins with a wind fanfare by Tomasi. The title work of the concert, Poulenc’s Suite Française, is also written for winds. Håkan Hardenberger from Sweden is one of the world’s finest trumpet players; he previously appeared with the Turku Philharmonic in spring 2019. Here, he performs the solos in the works by Jolivet and Escaich. The programme concludes with Ravel’s illustration of Tales from Mother Goose.

Thu 3.12. at 11 am in the Concert Hall
Music from alpine countries

Enroll here (in Finnish)

Kerem Hasan conductor
Takuya Takashima, oboe
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Franz Schubert: Symphony no. 3 in D major
Igor Stravinsky: Dumbarton Oaks
Alessandro Marcello: Oboe Concerto in D minor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony no. 35 in D major ‘Haffner’

Kerem Hasan is on an ascending international career, having recently been appointed Chief Conductor of the Tyrolean Symphony Orchestra Innsbruck. The focus of this programme is a piece of lucid, decorative Venetian Baroque performed by Takuya Takashima, Principal Oboe of the Turku Philharmonic. The ‘Haffner’ Symphony shows Mozart at his most amiable and attractive; it was commissioned for the ennobling ceremony of a member of the Haffner family in Salzburg. A similar joy and melodic vein may be heard in the Third Symphony of Schubert, likewise a resident of Vienna, written at the age of 18.