During the spring season 2021 Turku Philharmonic Orchestra offers three public dress rehearsals. Enroll beforehand.

Culture Card holders can enjoy the public final rehearsals free of charge! Rehearsals begin at 11 am.

The exact duration of the public final rehearsals varies depending on the concert program. Final rehearsals are a walk-through of the whole concert. The orchestra rehears also separate parts or stems depending on the conductor and the program.

Final rehearsals are held in Turku Concert Hall unless stated otherwise. Concert Hall doors are opened around 10.30 and audience is seated few minutes before the rehearsal begins. The cafeteria is not open during the rehearsals.

Read about Turku Philharmonic Orchestra´s safety instructions here.

Spring 2021 public dress rehearsals:

Fri 5.3. at 11 am in the Concert Hall
Joonas Kokkonen 100

Alpesh Chauhan, conductor
Senja Rummukainen, cello
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Felix Mendelssohn: Ruy Blas Overture op. 95
Joonas Kokkonen: Cello Concerto
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 3 in F major op. 90

Joonas Kokkonen is one of Finland’s most celebrated composers of classical music of all time. The year 2021 marks the centenary of his birth. This programme focuses on his Cello Concerto – his only venture into the concerto genre. The soloist is Senja Rummukainen, one of Finland’s top-notch young musicians. She won the international Turku Cello Competition in 2014 and placed sixth in the international Tchaikovsky Competition in 2019. In this programme, Kokkonen is bookended by German Romantics.

Thu 8.4. at 11 am in the Concert Hall

Enroll here (in finnish)

Jaana Haanterä conductor
Adrian Ibañez-Resjan, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Jouni Kaipainen: North by North-East op. 63
Jean Sibelius: Six Humoresques opp. 87 & 89
Jean Sibelius: Symphony no. 6 in D minor op. 104

Sibelius’s Humoresques captivate the listener with their agility and wide range of expression. They are performed by Turku-born violinist Adrian Ibañez-Resjan. Sibelius’s Sixth is the most lucid and purely classical of his seven symphonies and provides an admirable contrast to the Humoresques. The programme opens with North by North-East, an evocation of the rugged environment of the far North. The conductor is Jaana Haanterä, who has created a prominent career as both a conductor and a violinist.

Thu 6.5. at 11 am in the Concert Hall
Rhapsody in Blue

Enroll here (in finnish)

Jonathan Stockhammer, conductor
Andreas Boyde, piano
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Paul Hindemith: Konzertmusik op. 49 for piano, brass and harp
George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 4 in E minor op. 98

Andreas Boyde has a knack for electrifying his audiences. His performance of Gershwin’s classic Rhapsody in Blue in Kiel in 2019 earned rave reviews. Straddling territory between classical music and jazz, the piece is a gratifying vehicle for a piano virtuoso. Jonathan Stockhammer enjoys music that blurs genre boundaries. He also has a firm grasp of how to bring music alive in such very different styles as Hindemith and Brahms.