Luostarin välikatu, running through the Great Old Square, was the town’s artery in the Middle Ages. The street ran from St. Olaf’s Dominican monastery to the town centre and to the Cathedral.
After the fire of 1827 C.L. Engel drew up a new grid plan for the city, but he left the old medieval centre untouched. Luostarin välikatu remained to remind us of the narrow streets of the past.
Today Luostarin välikatu is a unique remnant of the Middle Ages. The street has served as a background for many films and inspired many photographers.