The Turku Biological Museum opened on 15 July 1907. The story of the museum starts in 1902 when the Turku City Council received an anonymous donation for 50 000 marks for an unspecified purpose. Later it was revealed that the donation had been made by Alfred Jacobsson, the vice consul for Sweden, and his wife Hélène.
Situated in the historical setting of the Old Great Square, the gallery features interesting temporary exhibitions.
The gallery is located on the second floor with access through the staircase. There is no lift in the building.
The exhibition space
Brinkkala Gallery is a unique and fascinating exhibition space. Located on the second floor, the gallery can be reached via the mansion’s beautiful stair hall. The gallery comprises two back-to-back rooms with high ceilings. The long sides of the rooms are lined with windows.